The family that gets sick together, stays together.

Well, these last few months of random bouts of colds, snot, throw up, and other horrid bodily functions have left little to be desired. But I have been repeating the mantra: “I will not get sick, I will not get sick, I WILL NOT GET SICK” (or at least deathly sick)…

Finally got sick.

And sick with a freaking vengeance, people. I went to the ER (thanks to an amazing friend who lets me wake her up at 5am whining about how horrid I feel) and have some Influenza A/H1N1 crap, I’m not too sure, other than I feel like death and I have slept for 48 hours straight, than another 16. It wasn’t exactly the kid free vacation I was looking for.

However, my family, who are all fighting their own little colds, ear infections, sinus infections, and what have you, are handling my disappearance like champs. Even my little Autistic Richie has made me swell with pride at his flexibility in this.  Danny has been keeping busy, keeping his brother busy, and trying fruitlessly to keep the living room clean. Austin has been my rock, and sneaks into my room all ninja like to check how fast my pulse is (it was at a resting 190 beats when I went to the ER), load me up with fever reducing medicine, and to throw out a occasional (and absent, I might add,  just to play it safe) threat of having one of his buddies come over and stick me with an IV since I wasn’t drinking water.

I have resigned myself to bed, to sleep, and alas, to pinterest. It’s got some cool stuff though, I learned how to stick a super hard scrubby brush on the end of a power drill to REALLY get that bath tub clean, how to organize Richie’s thousands of MatchBox cars with magnetic knife strips stuck to the wall, and even how to make glow in the dark bowling pins for when we (or they) go camping this summer.  Really, it’s pretty cool, you should look at my site over there too! šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜‰     http://www.pinterest.com/Always4simple/  (No seriously, I wasn’t kidding)

Anyway, today was the first day downstairs, just for a quick peek. Any parent would chuckle to themselves right about now. Clothes, shoes, blankets, pillows, crafts, Legos, cars, dishes, wrappers, movies, kleenex… it’s everywhere. Dad is passed out on the couch with his hand lapsed over the top of his head, in obvious exhaustion, but hey, the kids are fed, happy, and EVEN CLEAN! Not only did super dad manage to keep them busy and QUIET but he even gave them hair cuts, which is no easy feat with Richie and his sensory processing disorder mixed into the Autism.

All in all, I call it a win.

I even came downstairs to find this waiting for me:

photo

Gosh, I love that man.

Lastly, before I retreat back off to bed for another 12 hours of sleep and probably a few pins on pinterest (and certainly before my husband catches me out of bed), because just this post has made me a little dizzy already,  if anyone has any old wives tales, or tips and tricks, on how to beat the exhaustion, the cough, the snot, the everything, I would REALLY love to hear it. Never hurts to try!

 

Tell me what you think!

